Tuscaloosa Alumnae Chapter History

Delta Delta Sigma Chapter, now Tuscaloosa Alumnae Chapter, was organized in March 1949 by Clemmie Webber of South Carolina, who was then Southeastern Regional Director. In May of 1950, the Delta Delta Sigma Chapter was chartered.

The following persons were charter members: Anna P. Mayfield, Mildred Coleman, Emerson Land, Willie Bruce Mitchell Palmore, Elgertha Byrd, Ann DeRamus, Emma Driscole, Rosa Parker, Ruby Carter Martin, Bernice Madden, Cammie Daley Johnson, and Martha O’Rourke. The ceremony was held in the Guest House of Stillman College, Tuscaloosa, Alabama. Mildred Coleman made the arrangements. The first president was Emerson Land. Willie B. Palmore served as the first recording secretary, and Anna P. Mayfield was the first corresponding secretary.

Today, the chapter has more than 170 members.

Over the years, the Tuscaloosa Alumnae Chapter has performed numerous acts of public service that are aligned with the sorority’s Five-point Programmatic Thrust.  The chapter’s public service efforts include working with youth in Tuscaloosa through our Delta Academy/Delta GEMS and Career Awareness Day; annually awarding scholarships to deserving high school and college students; hosting an African-American Read-In, a health and wellness fair, a job/career fair, a youth in leadership forum, economic development forums; providing voter registration/education and candidate forums.

Numerous monetary contributions are also made. Most notably to UNCF (Stillman College), Murphy African American Museum, West Alabama Sickle Cell Anemia Association, American Cancer Society, and American Heart Association.  On the international front, the chapter donated funds in 2012 to build a water well in Ghana, Africa and in 2015 to the Mary Help of the Sick Mission Hospital in Thika, Kenya.